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Helping people. It's who we are and what we do. V[
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pes of older person and vulnerable person
ectively referred to as vulnerable adult) abuse;
« Signs of vulnerable adult abuse;
« Signs of abusive caretakers;
* Victims of vulnerable adult abuse;

* Role of Aging and Disability Services Division (ADSD) in
vulnerable adult abuse cases;

* Mandated reporting.
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all 888-729-0571 or 702-486-6930 to report Abuse
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* ADSD, Adult Protective Services has 4 offices in
Nevada:
* Reno, Carson City, Elko, and Las Vegas
« Office Hours:
* Monday-Friday 8:00 am-5:00 pm
* ADSD is not funded for emergency response;

* ADSD is the only entity in the state who investigates
vulnerable adult abuse, other than Law

Enforcement.
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4t Protective Services

Adult Protective Services Include:

to other services

Protective services are provided if the individual is willing to accept
these services.
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ADULT PROTECTIVE SERVICES MISSION STATEMENT
To assist vulnerable adults, age 18 to 59, in addition to persons 60
years and older who are abused, neglected, exploited, isolated or
Iband by or for services to
alleviste and pravent further maltreatment while safequarding
their civil liberties.
As of July 1, 2019, Nevada received ive authority to i of abuse,
regarding the 18-59 vulnerable person population. P2
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+ Physical;
« Psychological;

* Neglect;
Exploitation;

Isolation;
SelfNeglect.
In Nevada, an “older person” is defined as a person 60 years of age or older.
A “vulnerable person” is defined as a person 18 years of age or older who:
(a) Suffers from a condition of physical or mental incapacitation because of
a developmental disability, organic brain damage or mental iliness; or
(b) Has one or more physical or mental limitations that restrict the
ability of the person to perform the normal activities of daily living.
As defined by Nevada Revised Statute, NRS 200.5092
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* Desertion of an older person or a vulnerable person
in an unsafe manner by a caregiver or other person
with a legal duty of care;

* Withdrawal of necessary assistance owed to the
older person or vulnerable person by a caregiver or
other person with an obligation to provide services
to the older or vulnerable person

« This allegation type was added: 10/1/2015

[Call 888-72! 71 or 702-486-6930 to report Abuse

iS¢ is the willful:

a) Infliction of pain or injury on an older person or a vulnerable
person;

b) Deprivation of food, shelter, clothing or services which are
necessary to maintain the physical or mental health of an older
person or a vulnerable person;

c) Infliction of psychological or emotional anguish, pain or distress
on an older person or a vulnerable person;

d) Nonconsensual sexual contact with an older person or a
vulnerable person;

e) Permitting any of the acts described in paragraphs (a) to (d)
 Three Types of Abuse:

* Physical;
* Psychological (emotional);
* Sexual. ST
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Call 888-729-0571 or 702-486-6930 to report Abuse rjg )i?

lous or unexplained injury;
* Sexualabuse;
* Inappropriate physical or chemical restraint;

* Medication abuse
« Over or under medicating.

Call 888-729-0571 or 702-486-6930 to report Abuse




ological (Emotional) Abuse

PAreatening, controlling or socially isolating the older
person or vulnerable person;

« Disregarding the needs of the older personor
vulnerable person;

* Harming, damaging or destroying any property of the
older person or vulnerable person, including, without
limitation, pets.
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act that the older person or vulnerable person is
unable to understand or to which the older person
or vulnerable person is unable to communicate his
or her objection;

* Intentional touching either directly or through the
clothing;
* Anytime sexual abuse is alleged, law enforcement
must be contacted immediately;
* Report to APS should also be made.
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dilure of a person or a manager of a facility who
has assumed legal responsibility or a contractual
obligation for caring for an older person or a
vulnerable person or who has voluntarily assumed
responsibility to provide food, shelter, clothing or
services which are necessary to maintain the
physical or mental health of the older person or
vulnerable person.

« If a person who has voluntarily assumed
responsibility to provide necessary supervision to
the older person or a vulnerable person and then
fails to provide adequate supervision, it is neglect; _

* Neglect does not have to be intentional. r’\m’(;
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Special Considerations:

* Older and vulnerable persons can be highly susceptible
to weather extremes for many reasons including chronic
health conditions, medications and metabolic change;

 Older and vulnerable persons may be unable to express
their needs in response to weather extremes.

* Older and vulnerable persons left outside in extreme

heat or cold are at high risk of dehydration,

hypothermia, and even death.

|
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elf-neglect is the failure of an older or vulnerable
person to provide for his or her own needs because
of an inability to do so;

* Self-neglect is not a crime;

* An older or vulnerable person has the right to
make his or her own choices unless a judge
declares the individual incompetent.

Call 888-729-0571 or 702-486-6930 to report Abuse }H)(S
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SgllDetermination

Self-determination is the right of a vulnerable adult
to make their own decisions, good or bad;

* Substantial attention is given to the concept of self-
determination;

« Often, a vulnerable adult has capacity but makes
poor choices, these individuals still have the right
to self-determination;

* APS will work in the best interest of the client when
the vulnerable adult lacks capacity.
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@ipitation

ANy act taken by a person who has the trust and confidence
of an older person or a vulnerable person or any use of the
power of attorney or guardianship to:

* Obtain control or convert money, assets or property,
through deception, intimidation, or undue influence
with the intention of permanently depriving the person
of their ownership, use, benefit or possession of their
money assets or property.

¢ Undue influence means the improper use of power or
trust in a way that deprives a person of his or free will.
This does not include the normal influence that one

member of a family has over another.  rz
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Preventing an older person or vulnerable person
from having contact with another person by:
 Physically restraining and/or intentionally preventing the
person from receiving visitors, mail, phone calls;

* Knowingly providing a false statement contrary to the
express wishes of the person with the intent to prevent
visitors and callers;

* Permitting any of the acts described;

* This does not include an act intended to protect the

property, physical, and or mental welfare of the person
or an act pursuant to the instructions of a physician.

call 888-729-0571 or 702-486-6930 to report Abuse KD
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of Vulnerable Adult Abuse

* Suspect vulnerable adult abuse if you notice any of
the following conditions:
* Inadequately explained bruises, cuts, or burns;
* Dehydration or malnutrition;
* Overly medicated or extremely sedated;
* Unusual confinement;
* Closed off in a room;
« Tied tofurniture.

* Lack of cleanliness, grooming.

S P
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of Vulnerable Adult Abuse
tinued)

ear of speaking for oneself in the presence of the
caretaker;

* Anxious to please;

* Anxiety, confusion, withdrawal, depression;
* Shame, fear, embarrassment;

* Sudden change in financial activity;

* Unusual cash withdrawals from the person’s
account in a short period of time.
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hcteristics of Abusive Caretakers

§tSpect vulnerable adult abuse if a caretaker displays any of
the following behaviors:
* Threatening remarks or behavior;
« Conflicting stories
* Such as how the vulnerable adult was injured;
* Insults, aggressive behavior;
« Withholding of attention, security, and affection;
« Attitude of indifference or anger toward the vulnerable
adult in their care;
* Unusual fatigue, depression;
* Obvious absence of assistance or attendance.

* A history of abusive family behavior or other hostile
behavior patterns can predispose a caretaker to acting out ’/\/\

his or her anger, especially when under stress. DHKS
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Persons over 80 years of age are 2 to 3 times more
likely to be abused;

* Victims are likely to have dementia or cognitive
impairment;

* Two thirds of the reports examined identify women
asvictims;

* From: The Center on Elder Abuse, Center of Excellence on Elder
Abuse and Neglect 2011
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ictims (continued 2)

People with Intellectual Disabilities/Developmental
Disabilities are more likely to be victims of a crime
as opposed to a perpetrator of a crime;

* Individuals with ID/DD are often taken advantage of
and exploited;

« Often this is done by family, friends, and caregivers;

* More than 90% of people with developmental
disabilities will experience sexual abuse at some
point in their lives.
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ictims (continued 3)

NEVAD

A'victim may deny the reported abuse and put up

barriers to assistance because they are:

* Ashamed that their children or caretaker has mistreated
them;

* Dependent on the abuser;

* Fearful of being sent to a nursing home or being taken
away;

* Worried that if the abuser is taken away, they will be
alone;

« Fearful of retaliation.

Call 888-729-0571 or 702-486-6930 to report Abuse ’ 7 /\
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@ping Vulnerable Adult Abuse

* |t all starts by making a report, which is reviewed
by Adult Protective Services (APS);

* Case investigations are opened and assigned to an
APS worker based on the allegation;

* APS workers provide intervention steps to assist
clients;

* APS workers may refer cases to Law Enforcement
based on their findings of the investigation;

* Law Enforcement may investigate and refer to the

District Attorney for possible prosecution. T
OHKS
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Mafdatory Reporters

andatory reporter is someone who is required
by Nevada Law to notify a particular state or local
agency when the person, in his/her professional or
occupational capacity, knows or has reason to
believe that a vulnerable adult is being abandoned,
abused, exploited, isolated, or neglected.

* Reports should be made immediately or within 24
hours.
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HELP STOP THE ABUSE
OF VULNERABLE ADULTS

72
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Are Mandated Reporters?

sicians * Physician’s Assistants
* Dentists * Psychiatrists
* Dental Hygienists * Psychologists
« Chiropractors * Therapists — Marriage,
« Optometrists Family, and Music
« Podiatrists * Alcohol or Drug Abuse
Counselors

Medical Examiners .
* AmbulanceDrivers

Residents K
* Emergency Medical
Technicians

Interns

Professional or Practical

Nurses * Any person employed by a

facility that provides care F

Nursing Home employees for vulnerable adults 2R
ULLE)
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Are Mandated Reporters?
Ptinued)

overnment Employees of the Department of Human
Services;

* Mortuary and Funeral Home Employees;

* Social Workers; I I \‘
* Home Health Agency Employees; | o

* Coroners;

* Law Enforcement Employees;

* Probation Officers -Juvenile or Adult;
* Financial Institution Designee;

* Securities Brokers-Dealers and Investments Advisors #-.

BKS
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szlentofRepoﬂs

e report must contain the following information,
when possible:

* The name and address of the vulnerable adult;

* The name and address of the person responsible for his

or her care, if there is one;

* The name and address, if available, of the person who is
alleged to have abandoned, abused, neglected,
exploited or isolated the vulnerable adult;

Call 888-729-0571 or 702-486-6930 to report Abuse S
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‘-ntofRepoﬂs(Conﬂnued)

The nature and extent of the abandonment, abuse,
exploitation, isolation, or neglect of the vulnerable
adult;
« Any evidence of previous injuries;
* The basis of the reporter’s belief that the vulnerable
adult has been abandoned, abused, exploited, or
isolated.

* Note: “Potential” abuse is not reportable:

* The reporter must state the reasons and/or facts that
lead them to believe abuse has occurred.

BHKS
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AHElﬁTl]P THEABUSE  OF VULNERABLE ADULTS

To report suspected abuse, neglect, exploitation,
isolation and abandonment of vuinerable adults 18
years and older, please call:

Las Vegas/ Statewide/
Clark County All Other Areas
(702) 486-6930 (888) 729-0571

AFTER HOURS: Contact any Police Department or Sheriff’s Office

If there is imminent danger involved, call 911

Learn more about how you can help:
https://www.nevada211.or
http://adsd.nv.gov.
Provider Training SN
http://nevadaadrc.com/component/k2/item/744-elder-abuse-prevention-training-e-learning-path bW“S
| 888-72! 1 or 702-486-6930 to report Abuse
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https://www.nevada211.org/aps
http://adsd.nv.gov/
http://nevadaadrc.com/component/k2/item/744-elder-abuse-prevention-training-e-learning-path



